2017 Awards Luncheon

On Friday, April 7, 2017, we held our eleventh annual awards luncheon, enjoying a keynote from Sue Paterno and recognizing the achievements of some truly incredible women in our University community.

Dr. Eric Barron standing at podium.

“Our first thought when seeing a person on this campus should be, ‘This person has great value.'”
– Dr. Eric Barron
(Photo by Ann Taylor-Schmidt)

After an introduction from President Barron, Sue Paterno shared her memories of life as a woman at Penn State, demonstrating the trajectory our story has taken since her first year as a student  in the late ’50s. Women students’ behavior was restricted, she said, until, over time, “women proved they had the right to make their own choices, whether good or bad.”

Sue Paterno standing at podium.

Sue Paterno
(Photo by Ann Taylor-Schmidt)

In a speech both inspiring and funny, Sue Paterno expanded on her attitude of giving and giving back. “The size of the act isn’t the key,” she pointed out; “it’s the doing.” Her words encouraged attendees to keep working toward equity.

2017 Achieving Women Award and Rosemary Schraer Award Recipients: Nicole Gallegor, Colleen Lang, Dr. Deanna Behring, Dr. Susan Stewart, Dr. Li Li, Brittany Banik
Not pictured: Kristin Dreyer
(Photo by Ann Taylor-Schmidt)

Following the keynote, the 2017 Achieving Woman awards were presented. Summarized in the Penn State Today article 2017 Commission for Women award recipients announced, lauded for achievements, all past and present award recipients are also listed on the Commission for Women website: Achieving Women Award Recipients, and Rosemary Schraer Award Recipients.

Follow the hashtag #CFWAwards18 for updates on next year’s awards luncheon, and keep up with us on Twitter @PennStateCFW and Facebook at PSCFW.

About Becca

Writer, editor, and lifelong bibliophile
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.