8/29 – 9/1/2017: The TCL team attended the 2017 ASME InterPACK Conference (The International Technical Conference and Exhibition on Packaging and Integration of Electronic and Photonic Microsystems)  held at San Francisco, CA.


Bikram (left) presented multiple topics: “Electro-Thermal Analysis of β-Ga2O3 based Ultra-Wide Bandgap Schottky Barrier Diodes”, “Integrated Temperature Mapping of Gallium Nitride Micro-LED Arrays”, and “Thermal Characterization of GaN based Vertical Power Electronic Devices.”

James Spencer’s (right) work was on “Thermal Characterization and Modeling of an Ultra-Wide Bandgap AlGaN Channel High Electron Mobility Transistor” and “Thermal Management of Large Periphery Gallium Nitride Power Electronics Using 3-D Multi-Metallization Structures.”

Bikram won the first place in the poster competition on his work on “Electro-Thermal Analysis of β-Ga2O3 based Ultra-Wide Bandgap Schottky Barrier Diodes.”

5/29 – 6/1/2017: The TCL team attended the 2017 IEEE ITHERM Conference (The Intersociety Conference on Thermal and Thermomechanical Phenomena in Electronic Systems) held at Orlando, FL.


James Dallas’ (left) presentation title was “Thermal Characterization of GaN Vertical p-i-n Diodes.” Bikram Chatterjee (center) talked about “Electro-Thermal Reliability Study of GaN High Electron Mobility Transistors.” James Spencer’s (right) work was on “Integrated Temperature Mapping of Lateral Gallium Nitride Electronics.”

10/11/2016: Dr. Choi’s proposal on “Thermal/Mechanical Investigation of Ultra-Wide Bandgap Materials and Devices” was selected by the Air Force’s Young Investigator Research Program (YIP).  Special thanks to mentors and colleagues at AFOSR, AFRL, Penn State, Sandia National Labs, Auburn Univ, Georgia Tech, and the TCL team!

afosrThe AFOSR web link can be accessed here.

Full story can be accessed here .

8/3-4/2016: Bikram Chatterjee participated in the “2016 IEEE Lester Eastman Conference on High Performance Devices” with his work on “Asymmetric Self-Heating in AlGaN/GaN HEMTs and Its Implication on Device Reliability.


6/6/2016: Bikram Chatterjee has been awarded the Kulakowski travel award in Mechanical Engineering.


4/19/2016: James Spencer Lundh has been awarded the Gabron Graduate Fellowship in Mechanical Engineering.

JSL Raman

3/31/2016: Dr. Shuji Nakamura, recipient the 2014 Nobel Laureate in Physics, visits Dr. Sukwon Choi’s lab


26160567442_e22250b49a_k       25648242624_93268393eb_k      25648240854_187c4c9f37_k

Dr. Shuji Nakamura, Professor of Materials and Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of California, Santa Barbara is the recipient of the 2014 Nobel Laureate in Physics for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources.

Special Thanks to Dr. Joan Redwing and Lois Rice for arranging this meeting!

3/5/2016: James Dallas has been selected for the PPG Undergraduate Research Fellowship Program.


The PPG program is a summer undergraduate research fellowship provided by the PPG Foundation which aims to attract students to materials research, to familiarize students with PPG, and to connect PPG with faculty researchers at Penn State. This year, 8 undergraduate students’ proposals have been selected. James will be working on developing a thermometry method that combines the use of Infrared thermal microscopy and thermal simulation.

Updated 10/17/2016