Author Archives: Mary Miles, Ph.D.

Section 6 CI Tags

Politics: milespolitics61 Politics: milespolitics2 Environment: milesenvironment6 Environment: milesaltenergy6 Education: mileseducation6 milespassion6 for passion blogs

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Section 7 Civic Issue Blog Groups

Environment: TheLorax Vivek Anil – sites.psu.edu/thoughtsofvivekanil Sean Hixon – sites.psu.edu/shixon Andrew Warner – sites.psu.edu/andrewwarner Matthew Mitchell – sites.psu.edu/matthewblog/ Gender/Sexuality and Race: milesgenderrace7 Gender/Sexuality: Julie Hetrick – sites.psu.edu/juliehetrick Abby Salem – sites.psu.edu/abbysalemci Matt Brownlow – sites.psu.edu/brownlowm Vaudrey Carrillo- sites.psu.edu/rclblogcarrillo/ Angela Ting … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Section 6 Civic Issue Blog Groups

Politics 1: milespolitics61 Marc Jakobi Mark Kazoar Jake Griggs Nicolas Bhaskan Daniel Zahn Awais Butt Politics 2: milespolitics2 Abby Luke Shannon Cikowski Julia Severyn Education: mileseducation6 Andrew Baak Sydney Montgomery Rachel Sporer Taelor Romero Ann Puthumana Sarah Petri Environment 1: … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Section 7 Passion Blogs

Section 7 Passion Blogs Vivek Anil                                  sites.psu.edu/thoughtsofvivekanil Tom Beeby                              sites.psu.edu/politicallypassionate/ Lauren Bello                           sites.psu.edu/laurenabello Colin Brooks                           sites.psu.edu/kunst Matt Brownlow                   sites.psu.edu/brownlowm Vaudrey Carrillo           sites.psu.edu/vaudreycarrillo Allison Ching                           sites.psu.edu/allisonching Laura D’Ambrogi                 sites.psu.edu/ledambrogi Jacob Diamond  sites.psu.edu/jldiamond Jessica He                                 sites.psu.edu/jhe2017 Julie Hetrick                            sites.psu.edu/juliehetrick Sean … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

Section 6 Passion Blogs

Section 6 Passion Blogs Milan Abramovitz – sites.psu.edu/mabramovitzpassion Andrew Baak- sites.psu.edu/abaak Nicholas Bhaskar – sites.psu.edu/nbhaskarpassion Ritwik Biswas – sites.psu.edu/ritz Awais Butt – sites.psu.edu/apb5471 Shannon Cikowski – sites.psu.edu/shanciko8 Robert Griggs- sites.psu.edu/robertgriggs Ben Hartleb – sites.psu.edu/bhartleb Marc Jakobi – sites.psu.edu/netflixshows Mark Kazour … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

Come to London with me: Summer 2019

British Books and Beasts: Animals in Literature, London, and Life Mary C. Miles, Ph.D. “The love for all living creatures is the most noble aspect of man.” ~Charles Darwin “Some people talk to animals. Not many listen though. That’s the … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Editorial — Grade Deflation: A Different Problem not the Solution

The Impact of Efforts to Influence Grade Distributions on Student Diversity and Vulnerable Facutly Grade inflation has been a problem for decades.  Obviously, it’s vexing.  Nationwide, administrators and faculty have not found effective ways to address it.  Now we have … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Nineteen-Nineties Nostalgia: “Wear Your Most Fabulous Clothes”

Background Theme Music: “Ask”, The Smiths Philosophy 412 — Special Topics in Philosophy — met in Sackett Building.  Professor Alphonso Lingis, awkwardly jammed into a chair/desk combo, looked painfully out of place in the drab classroom.  Like his beloved birds, … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 13 Comments

Narcissism 1989: One Day Big Hair Just Wasn’t Cool Anymore

Background Theme Music: Social Distortion, “Story of My Life” Nothing fixes a thing so intensely in the memory as the wish to forget it -Michel De Montaigne Memory is strange.  Striving to recollect my freshman (first-year!) self through now decades-long … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 10 Comments