The revised Unicode standard version 6.0.0 has been officially released by the Unicode Consortium. In addition to changes in the specification, some additional characters have been added include a block of emoji (emoticon) symbols, the new rupee sign of India as well as new blocks for Mandaic (Iran), Batak (Indonesia) and Brahmi (ancestral form of most scripts of India). Additional characters have also been added for alchemical symbols and playing cards, and there have been additions for CJK ideographs, Ethiopic, Tifinagh and Bamum (Cameroon) scripts.

Hopefully the mainstream fonts and OS will catch up with some of these issues soon.

Share →

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar