Faculty & Staff Awards

Chancellor and Dean Lori J. Bechtel-Wherry presents awards

Chancellor and Dean Lori J. Bechtel-Wherry presents awards

Penn State Altoona faculty and staff members were honored for their exemplary work at the college during the annual Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony held Friday, May 6, 2016, on campus.

Jutta Gsoels-Lorensen, associate professor of German, English, and comparative literature, was the recipient of the Athleen J. Steer Teaching Award. Anja K. Wagner, part-time lecturer in German, received the Outstanding Lecturer Award while Lisa A. Emili, associate professor of physical geography and environmental studies, and Nicholas Rowland, associate professor of sociology and environmental studies, were each honored with the Grace D. Long Faculty Excellence Award. Corien Bakermans, associate professor of microbiology, was bestowed with the Outstanding Achievement in Research and Creative Activity Award and Steve Sherrill, associate professor of English and integrative arts, earned the Fred Allen Womack and Frances Sue Zimmerman Womack Book Award.

Michele Bettwy, executive assistant for University Relations, Michael Long, assistant director of Business Operations, and Dave Vogel, electrician, each received Ted J. Long Staff Excellence Awards. Paula Kustenbauder, instructor in nursing, and Michelle Mock, administrative assistant, are the recipients of the Barbara Long-Beck Excellence Award.

Retirees and individuals with significant years of service were also recognized during the ceremony.

Comments are closed