Research travel grant award winners announced

The Eberly Family Special Collections Library is pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 research travel awards program. All winners will visit the Special Collections Library between May and August.

Dorothy Foehr Huck award winners
Professor Paul Kerry, Brigham Young University, will be researching the life of Bayard Taylor, using the papers of this Pennsylvania-born author, translator and diplomat in the library’s collection.

Professor Kristine Thompson, Louisiana State University, will be researching photographic representations of death and mourning, from the 19th century to the present day, using the Jay Ruby Collection and other related materials.

Helen F. Faust Women Writers award winners:
Professor Emily VanDette, State University of New York at Fredonia, will do research on “Six Scribbling Women and the Politics of Literary Reputation,” using Fred Lewis Pattee’s papers and other related collections.

Professor Carly Woods, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, will be researching “Women Debating Society: Gender, Citizenship, and Social Change in Debating Societies, 1840-1960,” using the records of the Penn State Women’s Debate Team among other sources.

During their research visit, the winners will be invited to give a short, informal presentation about their research that will be open to the public.

Tim Pyatt, the Dorothy Foehr Huck Chair and head of The Eberly Family Special Collections Library at Penn State University Park, sees the incentive of travel grants as an excellent way to promote use and disseminate information about our collections. Now in its second year, the awards showcase the wealth of materials in the library.

Additional details are available at or call Tim Pyatt at 814-865-7931. For an interview with Pyatt, see