Undergraduate Scholarships: State-wide Program

The application process for the 2020-2021 academic year is closed. To view a sample application and apply, click here.

Phylicia Bey, a 2019-2020 Scholar from Lincoln University, presents her research.

In one of several efforts to promote higher education in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, or Mathematics) disciplines, the Pennsylvania Space Grant Consortium (PSGC) offers financial support to undergraduate students through an annual state-wide scholarship program. Women, underrepresented minorities in STEM, and persons with disabilities are especially encouraged to apply.

A limited number of one-year scholarships are awarded to outstanding undergraduate students across the state of Pennsylvania who meet the requirements below.



Who should apply for the 2021-22 academic year?

Emma Moreland, 2019-2020 Scholar from Juniata College, stands near her poster, which is advertising an astronomy outreach event at her local observatory for college students and the community.

  • Applicant must be a U.S. citizen.
  • Applicant must be enrolled full-time at an accredited Pennsylvania college or university.
  • Applicant must be a rising junior or senior in Fall 2021.
  • Applicant must be enrolled in a science, technology, engineering or mathematics program and likely to pursue a career in an area of interest to NASA.
  • Applicant must complete an online application here: https://spacegrant.net/apps/pas1 (All supporting materials — letters of recommendation, resume, transcripts, etc. — must be included in order for an application to be considered complete.)

The application process begins Nov. 1, 2020, with applications due on or before March 1, 2021. Awards will be announced by email on or before June 1, 2021.

PSGC scholarships are funded through the Congressionally-supported National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program administered by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). All scholarship awards are contingent on available funding. A primary objective of NASA’s Space Grant Program is to attract, recruit and train U.S. citizens, especially women, underrepresented minorities in STEM, and persons with disabilities, for careers in aerospace science and technology.

The PSGC administration office is located on Penn State’s University Park campus in the Earth and Environmental Systems Institute, 2217 Earth-Engineering Sciences Building, Suite 218. For more information, visit us at www.pa.spacegrant.org. Contact us at spacegrant@psu.edu or by phone 814-863-7688.

Current and Past Scholarship Recipients

Daniel Lubey – Aerospace Engineering – Penn State University
Amanda Mills – Electrical Engineering – Penn State University

Josh Aikins – Meterology – Penn State University
David Zdancewicz – Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering – Penn State University

      Shareena Cannonier – Chemistry, Lincoln University

    Ying Feng – Astronomy & Astrophysics – Penn State University
    Beth Anne Katz – Electrical & Computer Engineering – Carnegie Mellon University
    Samuel Rodriques – Math, Physics – Haverford College

Pronoy Biswas – Electrical and Computer Engineering – Carnegie Mellon University
Alexandre Gauthier – Physics – University of Pittsburgh
Nicole Melso – Astronomy & Astrophysics, Physics – Penn State University

Stanley Chan – Chemical Engineering – Penn State University
Courtney Jackson – Geography – Penn State University

Emily Crabb – Physics, Computer Engineering – University of Pittsburgh
Lindsey Evans – Aerospace Engineering – Penn State University
Caitlin Gibbons – Mechanical Engineering – Penn State University

Arielle Berman – Mechanical Engineering – Penn State University
Ryan Chaky – Electrical Engineering – Bucknell University
Alexander Chan – Biomedical Engineering – Penn State University
Jason Cornelius – Aerospace Engineering – Penn State University
John Ferrara – Electrical Engineering & Mathematics – Bucknell University
Bradley Foreman – Physics – Shippensburg University
Aaron Kandel – Mechanical Engineering – Penn State University
Natalie Morrissey – Chemical Engineering – Penn State University
Bethany Tirrell – Physics & Astronomy – Kutztown University

Nicholas Chaump – Electrical Engineering and Mathematics – University of Scranton
Emelia Conte – Chemical Engineering – Penn State University
Emily Dailey – Mechanical Engineering – Villanova University
Bryan DeMarcy – Astronomy and Physics – Penn State University
James Falcone – Aerospace Engineering – Penn State University
Mark Frederick – Mechanical Engineering – Penn State University
Amanda Fritz – Meteorology – Millersville University
Gillian Good – Chemistry – Millersville University
Timothy Keebler – Meteorology – Millersville University
Sarah Kendl – Applied Mathematics – East Stroudsburg University
Andrea Merida – Mechanical Engineering – Penn State University
Susanna Ogozaly – Chemistry and Mathematics – Cedar Crest College
Kara Rosenthal – Civil and Environmental Engineering – Lafayette College
William Saunders – Physics and Astronomy – University of Pennsylvania
Rachel Schellberg – Aerospace Engineering – Penn State University
Alexander Smith – Biochemistry and Molecular Biology – Penn State University
Greta Studier – Engineering – Swarthmore College

Dyami Andrews – Swarthmore College
Michelle Ash – Miseracordia University
Melea Barahona – Alvernia University
Leah Boyer – Lebanon Valley College
Melissa Burnett – Allegheny College
Reagin Carpenter – Kutztown University
Terell Dale – Swarthmore College
Alexis Davison – Penn State
Nicole Dean – Penn State
Brooke DiGia – University of Pennsylvania
Sean Giles – Robert Morris University
Thomas Haas – Shippensburg University
Nufar Herzberg – Penn State
Madelyn Hoying – Duquesne University
Jocelynn Kelly – Penn State
Abigail Lee – University of Pennsylvania
Jacob McCann – Kutztown University
Chely Miller – Penn State
Isabella Moraschi – Rosemont College
Andrew Murtha – Penn State
Emily Peters – Penn State
Grace Ringlein – University of Pennsylvania
Matthew Sawyer – Bucks County Community College
Adrianna Vaskas – Mansfield University
Alexander Zhou – University of Pennsylvania

Kyle Abrahims – York College of PA
Phylicia Bey – Lincoln University
David Breault – Edinboro University of PA
Pablo Franco Almonte – Penn State Wilkes-Barre
Matthew Gross – Penn State University Park
Casey Gudall – Penn State Hazelton
Madelyn Hoying – Duquesne University
Victoria Kotwica – Penn State University Park
Steven Krupa – Penn State University Park
Srinivas Mandyam – University of Pennsylvania
Erika Minnich – Kutztown University of PA
Emma Mooreland – Juniata College
Avery Rosh-Gorsky – Bucknell University
Adithya Sriram – University of Pennsylvania
Andrew Tamis – Penn State University Park
Catherine Troutman – Mansfield University of PA
Kaylen Woods – Penn State University Park