A Scholarship Opportunity

Bill & Diane Barley and Sam & Valerie Krauss and John J. Cahir
2017-2018 Achievers’ Scholarships

The Office of Undergraduate Education will award eleven students the Bill and Diane Barley and Sam and Valerie Krauss and John J. Cahir Achievers’ Scholarships in the amount of $1,000 each for the 2017-2018 academic year. Units are eligible on a rotating basis to select one scholarship recipient. Those eligible for 2017-18 are:

College of Earth and Mineral Sciences
College of Arts and Architecture
Smeal College of Business
College of Engineering
College of the Liberal Arts
College of Nursing
Penn State Abington
Penn State Altoona
Penn State Beaver
Penn State Berks
Penn State Behrend

Each college and campus should identify one student. Recipients must be full-time students and may be an incoming or current first-year student or current sophomore. Selection of recipients must be based upon the following guidelines:
1. Evidence of leadership engagement in high school and college
2. Service to others
3. Employment experience, presumably contributing toward the costs of education
4. Academic achievement, considered in the context of well-rounded civic leadership and work engagement leading to an earned or predicted GPA within the range of 2.5 and 3.2

Note that the donors’ intent is to recognize students whose contributions to others, community leadership, and employment towards their own education are considered elements of a well rounded individual and just as important as GPA, hence the focus on students who are not in the first tier of academic performance and therefore may not be eligible for other awards.

Selections must be made and submitted by Friday, May 19, 2017.

CSSE students, please contact CSSE faculty for the application.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed