The Peace Science Society (International), or PSS(I), encourages the development of peace analysis and conflict management. PSS(I) does not confine itself to ideas specific to peace research, but welcomes and utilizes relevant work of the social and natural sciences. A primary concern of the Society is the improvement of social science theory as it relates to international relations. PSS(I) facilitates acquaintance and provides a vehicle for discussion among its members and others worldwide. It encourages and supports the publication of research, particularly but not exclusively quantitative research. PSS(I) avoids social, religious, or national bias. It does not promote political action or polemical discussion.


The Society was established as the Peace Research Society (International) in 1963 when Walter Isard convened a group of scholars at Malmo, Sweden. Its first conference was held in Chicago involving the participation of Kenneth Boulding, Anatol Rapoport, and many other leading scholars. Joining it entailed a mere $1 contribution. From 1964 to 1968, its affairs were conducted by a Steering Committee at the University of Pennsylvania. In 1969, an administrative council was set up as provided by the Society’s constitution. In 1973, the Society became the Peace Science Society (International), and its office was transferred to Cornell University and administered jointly with the School of Management at SUNY Binghamton. In 1989 the Society was transferred fully to the Department of Political Science at Binghamton University and subsequently to the Department of Political Science at the Pennsylvania State University. Stuart A. Bremer served as the Executive Secretary of the Society from 1989-2002. In October of 2002 Glenn Palmer was elected as the Executive Director of the Society.

Skip to toolbar