Skip to toolbar

SCWH Conference Information

Canceled: June 4–6, 2020, Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, Raleigh, NC

Rescheduled: June 17-19, 2021, Raleigh, NC

In light of the cancellation of the SCWH’s June 2020 Conference, we have decided to move our conference, hopefully with much of our program intact, to June 17-19, 2021, in Raleigh, North Carolina.  We’re still working out details about the program and the hotel, but we wanted our members to get this news, as quickly as possible, so you could begin to make your plans.  Of course, like of all of you, we are mindful of how tentative our planning continues to be in the time of this pandemic, but we remain hopeful that the meeting can go forward next June.

In the next few weeks, we will be contacting those who were scheduled to present in 2020 to determine if these new dates will work for you.  We are also painfully aware of the financial toll this crisis has caused for many  – in the form of lost jobs, reduced research accounts, and a weakened job market – and will be considering ways of providing financial assistance, specifically in the form of conference travel funding.  More information on that will be available shortly.

As always, stay safe and be well. Nina Silber, President, SCWH

Program: (pdf file) Please email with any corrections.

On-line credit card registration is now open or the registration form can be downloaded (pdf form) and mailed to Penn State, Attn: Barby Singer, 108 Weaver Building, University Park, PA 16802.

  • Member registration $75.00; $100.00 after 5/15/2020
  • Non-member registration $100.00; $125.00 after 5/15/2020
  • Guest one day registration $30.00
  • Student registration is $25.00; graduate students on the conference program are not required to pay a registration fee.

Two tours will be offered Thursday afternoon for $5.00/person/tour.

  • Tour 1, 1:00-2:15 pm: Trolley tour of Civil War/Reconstruction sites of Raleigh (limited seating)
  • Tour 2, 2:15-4:15 pm: Guides tour of Mordecai House (the oldest house in Raleigh that interprets slavery)
Accommodations: Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, 421 South Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27601, (919) 834-9900
  • Book now – room block for $145/night (plus applicable state & local taxes and resort charges)
  • Please note: The room block will be closed on May 4, 2020, 5:00 p.m. EST, or when all contracted rooms are sold, whichever occurs first.

The hotel has access to the parking deck across the street from the hotel at a rate of $15.00 per day per car for self-parking or $30.00 per day for valet parking (price is subject to change without notice).

Outstanding Paper by a Graduate Student Award: 

As we’re sure you know, the status of the June SCWH conference is very much up in the air given the circumstances surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic.  Because of that, and with deep regret, we write to let you know that the SCWH will not be holding the competition for the best graduate student paper for 2020.  If the June 2020 conference is cancelled, we will be investigating the possibility of rescheduling the conference for June 2021.  At that point, we expect to invite participants who were scheduled to present this June to return, if they can, for a 2021 meeting.  We would, of course, reschedule the graduate student paper competition for the next SCWH conference.  Please know, too, that we will be in touch soon with updates about both the status of the conference and about ways we hope to showcase the work of SCWH graduate students.

Call for papers (pdf file) [closed]
Call for Applications:  SCWH Second-Book Writers’ Workshop (pdf file) [closed]

Program Committee: 
  • Thomas J. Brown, University of South Carolina

  • Angela Diaz, Utah State University

  • Susanna Michele Lee, North Carolina State University

  • Barton A. Myers, Washington and Lee University

  • Amy Murrell Taylor, (chair), University of Kentucky

Outstanding Paper by a Graduate Student Award Selection Committee: 
  • David gleeson, Northumbria University Newcastle

  • Sarah Handley-Cousins, (chair), University of Buffalo

  • Matthew C. Hulbert, Hampden-Sydney College