Team Members

Feel free to contact us if you have any questions!

Current SPOT team members

  • Nicole Wang: Principal investigator,  PhD candidate, Learning and Performance Systems
  • Dr. Martin Yeh: Assistant Professor of IST, Penn State Brandywine
  • Dr. Andrea Gregg: Associate Director of Evaluation, Outreach Analytics and Reporting
  • Dr. Will Diehl: Assistant Professor of Education, Adult Education Program Coordinator
  • Dr. Stanley Smith: Associate Professor of Mathematics and Director of Online Instruction in the Department of Mathematics at University Park
  • Rebecca Heiser: Instructional Designer of World Campus
  • Juan Xia: Instructional Designer of World Campus
  • Dr. Amy Garbrick: Director of the Office of Learning Design, College of IST
  • Dr. Bart Pursel: Assistant Director of Teaching and Learning with Technology Innovation and an Affiliate Associate Research Professor of IST
  • Dr. Kyle Peck: Professor Emeritus
  • Dr. Alvin Yu: Associate Professor at St. Cloud University (Minnesota)
  • Dr. Mina Misumatzu: Assistant Professor of Tohoku University (Japan)

Previous team members

  • Sonya Leitzell: Director of Academic Affairs, Program Planning and Management of Penn State World Campus
  • Zane Sensenig: Full-time staff developer at Penn State
  • Chenyang Zhu: Ph.D. candidate at the University of Southampton (U.K)
  • Ling Tran: Full-stack developer at Thoughtworks. Inc


  • Andrew Trexler: Entrepreneurship/ Startup coach at Bedford Economics Development Association
  • Nate Turcotte: Ph.D. candidate at Learning and Performance Systems
  • Will Ashley: Master candidate at Learning and Performance Systems